This is the "Home" page of the "Chicago Style Citations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chicago Style Citations  

Use this guide for the Chicago Notes/Bibliography documentation style for AP US History.
Last Updated: Nov 24, 2015 URL: http://wehs.westex.libguides.com/chicago_citation_guide Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Helpful Sites

 

Noodletools

In West Essex, we use Noodletools as a tool to create parenthetical citations and a List of Works Cited.

Noodletools

Noodletools Tutorials

 

Sample Chicago Style Paper

Sample Chicago Style Paper (last two pages of sample paper is the bibliography)

Source:

 “CMS NB Sample Paper.” The Purdue OWL. Accessed November 11, 2015.
         https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/717/11/.

 

 

Basic Citations Using Chicago Style Note/Bibliography

Below are some general examples of footnotes using the Chicago Manual of Style citation guide. For examples for all types of resources, please visit the links in the left-hand column. Each example below provides the bibliographic entry first, and then the footnote in long and short form.

General Model for Citing Books in the Chicago Notes/Bibliography System

Bibliographical Entry:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

Footnote (Long): (footnotes are indented one half inch from margin with 2nd line of same footnote flush with margin)
     1. Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Place of  publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

Shortened footnote (for subsequent citation): 
     2. Lastname, Title of Book, page number.

Example: Book by One Author

Bibliographical Entry:

Fleming, Thomas. Duel: Alexander Hamilton, Aaron Burr and the Future of America. New
     York: Basic Books, 1999.

Footnote (Long):

    1. Thomas Fleming, Duel: Alexander Hamilton, Aaron Burr and the Future of America (New York: Basic Books, 1999), 21-22.

Shortened footnote (for subsequent citation):
     2. Fleming, Duel, 28.

General Model for Citing Web Sources in Chicago Style

Bibliographical Entry:

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Web Page.” Publishing Organization or Name of Web Site. Publication date and/or access date if available. URL.

Footnote (Long):

      1. Firstname Lastname, “Title of Web Page,” Publishing Organization or Name of Website, publication date and/or access date if available, URL.

Shortened footnote (for subsequent citation):
     2. Lastname, "Title of Web Page,"  Name of Website or Publishing Organization.

Example: Web page article

Bibliographical Entry:

“CMS NB Sample Paper.” The Purdue OWL. Accessed November 11, 2015.
     https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/717/11/.

Footnote (Long):

     1.  "CMS NB Sample Paper," The Purdue OWL, accessed November 11, 2015, https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/717/11/.

Shortened footnote (for subsequent citation):
     2. "CMS NB Sample Paper," The Purdue OWL.

Online Periodicals (Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles)

Online periodicals are cited exactly as their print counterparts with the addition of a DOI or URL at the end of the citation.  Also keep in mind that while access dates are not required for formally published electronic sources (journal articles), they can be useful for informally published electronic sources or may be required for by some disciplines for all informally and formally published electronic sources. Access dates should be located immediately prior to the DOI or URL.

Bibliographical Entry:

Peltonen, Kirsi, Noora Ellonen, Helmer B. Larsen, and Karin Helweg-Larsen. “Parental
        Violence and Adolescent Mental Health.”European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry 19,
         no. 11 (2010): 813-822. doi: 10.1007/s00787-010-0130-8.

Footnote (Long):

      1. Kirsi Peltonen, Noora Ellonen, Helmer B. Larsen, and Karin Helweg-Larsen, “Parental Violence and Adolescent Mental Health,”European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, 19, no. 11 (2010): 819, doi: 10.1007/s00787-010-0130-8.

Shortened footnote (for subsequent citation):
     2. Kirsi et al.,  “Parental Violence," 815.

 

 

 

The Chicago Manual of Style

Cover Art
The Chicago Manual of Style - University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9780226104201
Publication Date: 2010-08-01

 

EasyBib for Citing Sources

EasyBib

Download the extension at your Web Store.  Click login and the sign in with Google.  You already have an account!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip