This is the "Home" page of the "Future Trends: World History Final - Mr. Freda, Mr. Glenn, Ms. Martin, Mr. Illiano" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Future Trends: World History Final - Mr. Freda, Mr. Glenn, Ms. Martin, Mr. Illiano  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2017 URL: http://wehs.westex.libguides.com/future_trends Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Classroom Video on Demand

Essential Websites for Social Studies

Based  on a list compiled by Finding Dulcinea Staff.
See "101 Great Sites for Social Studies Class"

  • PBS Learning: Election Central
    It's an election year and PBS has created tools, resources, and creative solutions to help you understand the various facets of the political process.
  • Library of Congress
    is a great source to find historical documents, photos, art, maps, audio and video, artifacts and other items. The American Memory section organizes items based on topics, time periods and places of American history. The World Digital Library, a cooperative project with UNESCO, includes rare documents from around the world.
  • National Archives
    has a massive collection of material on U.S. history that can sometimes be overwhelming to search through. The Resources for National History Day Research page guides students on where to find material in the archives.
  • PBS
    has a wide range of resources for students from its various programs. The most useful is likely the companion Web sites for the American Experience documentary series examining important events and people in American history. Each site includes resources such as descriptions of the events, biographies of key figures, primary source documents, interactive maps and transcripts of the film. Also visit the American Masters series for biographies of historical figures.
  • EDSITEment
    The Best of Humanities on the Web
  • Smithsonian Institution
    has a wide variety of exhibitions and collections on American history and culture. It also offers lesson plans searchable by grade level, type of resource and historical topic.
  • GPO: Ben's Guide to Government
 

Find Books in WEHS Library

 

Noodletools

In West Essex, we use Noodletools as a tool to create parenthetical citations and a List of Works Cited.

Noodletools

Noodletools Tutorials

Find Copyright Friendly Photos

Database Resources

 

GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

Noodletools

In West Essex, we use Noodletools as a tool to create parenthetical citations and a List of Works Cited.

Noodletools

Noodletools Tutorials

Web Resources

  • Center for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
    CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
  • Pew Research Center
    Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
  • United Nations: Global Issues
    United Nations Global Issues: You will use this site to research ideas to make predictions
  • BBC: Future
    BBC.COM Web Page on the Future (variety of links on wide variety of topics)
  • FutureTimeline.net
    Speculative timeline of future world history (Tons of links and resources. If you spend time browsing this website, it is almost impossible not to stumble upon idea(s) for your project.)
  • Tomorrow's World
    Neat info-graphic about various predictions for the future and the odds on them actually happening.
  • 110 Predictions for the Next 110 Years
    An article from Popular Mechanics that lists ….wait for it….110 predictions for the next 110 years. Most of them do not have references attached. So, if you decide to use any of the unreferenced predictions from this article, you’ll have to do some additional research.
  • PBS: FutureStates
    What will become of America in five, 25, or even 50 years? FutureStates is a series of fictional mini-features exploring possible future scenarios through the lens of today's global realities. Immerse yourself in the visions of these independent prognosticators as they project a future of their own imagining.

Controversial Issues - Database Resources

Debate

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip