Use this guide to help you research the various people, places, and events referenced in Billy Joel's "We Didn't Start the Fire" lyrics.
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2016
In West Essex, we use Noodletools as a tool to create parenthetical citations and a List of Works Cited.
- Facts on File History Databases
Use this link to discover information in ALL FOF history databases with one search.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - eBooks
Search more than 1,000 eBooks on many historic issues.
- Gale: U.S. History in Context
Includes a broad collection of full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents, and scholarly analysis.
- Gale: World History in Context
Provides multicultural, global and research-based dynamic content that supports today’s history research requirements.
- Gale: Biography in Context
Excellent source for researching the lives of the famous and infamous.
- NY Times Historical Newspaper
Search for articles from 1850 to the present
- Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
- Academic Search Premier
Contains articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and books on any topic.
- Ebsco Web
Find articles on any topic in newspapers, magazines, and academic journals with one search!
With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
- Global Issues in Context
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues.
Note to Researchers: Good researchers use MULTIPLE SOURCES for newspaper stories and EVALUATE them for credibility, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose (CRAAP Test). Every website you use as a source needs to be evaluated by YOU to insure that it lives up to research standards required by your newspaper.
- "We Didn't Start the Fire" History Summary by Decade
- Library of Congress
is a great source to find historical documents, photos, art, maps, audio and video, artifacts and other items. The American Memory section organizes items based on topics, time periods and places of American history. The World Digital Library, a cooperative project with UNESCO, includes rare documents from around the world.