This is the "Home" page of the "Science - A Guide to Online Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science - A Guide to Online Resources  

Last Updated: Oct 27, 2017 URL: http://wehs.westex.libguides.com/science Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Science in the NY Times

 

Video Streaming

Citing in APA Style

 

Academic Integrity

 

Noodletools

In West Essex, we use Noodletools as a tool to create parenthetical citations and a List of Works Cited.

Noodletools

Noodletools Tutorials

 

Professional Development

ASCD eBook Collection
Educational Reference

ASCD eBook Collection

Science - Database Resources

Science_Explore

  • Science in Context - Gale
    Science In Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage for earth science and life science, space, technology, mathematics, and science history and biography.
  • Science Online - Facts on File
    Get the facts on any scientific issue with Science Online.
  • Health Reference Center - Facts on File
    Diseases, disorders, and all aspects of mental and physical health can be found in Health Reference Center.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - eBooks
    Search more than 1,000 eBooks on many science-related issues.
  • Salem Press Science - eBook Reference
    Find articles on Forensic and Environmental Science
  • Periodic Table: Core Concepts
    Support STEM learning and the Next Generation Science Standards with this fully interactive database on the 118 elements. The engaging user interface invites hands-on learning, while interactive activities reinforce skills and core ideas.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from over 3,500 journals and more than 34,000 books. WEHS does not have full access to all content but many journals are "open access" which means they are available for free. Please see Mrs. Rich in the library if you need access to an article or a book that is not offered on the open access platform.

Multidisciplinary Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    Contains articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and books on any topic.
  • Ebsco Web
    Find articles on any topic in newspapers, magazines, and academic journals with one search!
  • JSTOR
    With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
  • Global Issues in Context
    Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues.

Controversial Issues - Database Resources

Debate

Web Resources: Health

  • Center for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
    Trusted medical and health information.
  • Federal Drug Administration
    FDA is primarily responsible for protecting the public health by assuring that foods are safe, wholesome, sanitary and properly labeled. This site is an excellent resource for information on human health issues.
  • Medline Plus
    Trusted medical information for consumers from the National Library of Medicine. NO ADS!
  • Mayo Clinic
    Trusted medical information for consumers.
  • Pub Med
    Over 25 million citations for biomedical literature.
 

Periodic Table

Access from Home:

Career Databases

So many careers, too little time!

 

Find Books in WEHS Library

Destiny Catalog

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip