This guide provides a selective listing of resources related to the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. Thank you to Deborah Fanslow at the Ranney School in Tinton Falls, NJ for her permission to reuse and adapt the excellent guide she created.
Last Updated: Sep 8, 2017
- Foreign Policy Research Institute
This site contains two archived Webcasts, recorded on Sept. 8, 2011, with expert panelists discussing the actual events of 9/11/2001, focusing on what high school students need to know about 9/11 and the resulting U.S. and world events resulting from that tragedy.
- America Responds
This site is an archive of PBS coverage related to the events of 9/11. The site includes background resources, transcripts, discussion, analysis articles, and resources for parents and teachers.
- September 11: Bearing Witness to History
This collection from the Smithsonian National Museum of American History includes artifacts, images, and audio recordings of the 2002 exhibition and the current display for the period of September 3rd-11th. The site also includes educational resources, and educators can sign up groups of students to participate in sharing their own stories.
- The September 11, 2001 Documentary Project
The day after the September 11 attacks, the American Folklife Center began collecting America's responses to the tragedies. This collection cotains a sampling of the materials collected, including sound and video interviews, photographs, drawings, news clippings, written narratives, emails, and other artifacts. It also includes support materials for teachers
- The September 11, 2001 Digital Archive
The Digital Archive, a project of the Center for History and new Media at George Mason University and the American Social History Project at the City University of New York Graduate Center, uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11 and its aftermath.
- 9/11 Attacks - History.com
This site chronicles the 9/11 attacks, providing articles, media, and interactives. Explore a timeline of events, people, and themes surrounding the event.
- 9/11 Living Memorial
This interactive tribute documents the firsthand experiences of survivors, rescue workers, and family members of the 9/11 attacks.
- 9/11 Memorial
This site, sponsored by The National September 11 Memorial & Museum, features information about the memorial, including animated videos, a virtual tour, and a memorial exhibition archive.
- Tribute WTC Visitor Center Exhibits
This exhibit documents the community reaction to 9/11 through stories, images, and artifacts. Five interactive galleries chronicle the World Trade Center before the attack, a timeline of the attack, the aftermath, tributes, and people who reached out to help those in need. The tribute also includes changing exhibits, featured objects, and personal stories.