Last Updated: Sep 13, 2016
Based on a list compiled by Finding Dulcinea Staff.
See "101 Great Sites for Social Studies Class"
- PBS Learning: Election Central
It's an election year and PBS has created tools, resources, and creative solutions to help you understand the various facets of the political process.
- Library of Congress
is a great source to find historical documents, photos, art, maps, audio and video, artifacts and other items. The American Memory section organizes items based on topics, time periods and places of American history. The World Digital Library, a cooperative project with UNESCO, includes rare documents from around the world.
- National Archives
has a massive collection of material on U.S. history that can sometimes be overwhelming to search through. The Resources for National History Day Research page guides students on where to find material in the archives.
has a wide range of resources for students from its various programs. The most useful is likely the companion Web sites for the American Experience documentary series examining important events and people in American history. Each site includes resources such as descriptions of the events, biographies of key figures, primary source documents, interactive maps and transcripts of the film. Also visit the American Masters series for biographies of historical figures.
The Best of Humanities on the Web
- Smithsonian Institution
has a wide variety of exhibitions and collections on American history and culture. It also offers lesson plans searchable by grade level, type of resource and historical topic.
- GPO: Ben's Guide to Government - Grades 9-12
In West Essex, we use Noodletools as a tool to create parenthetical citations and a List of Works Cited.
- ABC-CLIO: American Government
Provides a complete, multifaceted examination of the foundations of our government and political system that supports any curriculum or research project focused on the government of the United States.
- EBSCO Host Web
Search databases and eBooks at once to dive into many different topics in American history.
- Facts on File: Collection of American History Databases
African-American History Online
American History Online
American Indian History Online
American Women's History Online
Issues & Controversies in American History
- Gale: Biography in Context
Excellent source for researching the lives of the famous and infamous.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search more than 1,000 eBooks on many aspects of Human History.
- Gale: Global Issues in Context
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues.
- Gale: U.S. History in Context
Includes a broad collection of full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents, and scholarly analysis.
- Salem History
Click here to search:
American Immigration, Encyclopedia of
Great Events from History
Great Lives from History
Milestone Documents in America
Also available in print in Reference section of Library
- CQ Press: Political Reference Suite
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History
Times Reference from CQ Press: Provides expert historical analysis on a variety of government and public affairs topics.